“The day I was born I was born free and that is my Privilege.”


Collision
January 4, 2008, 6:07 am
Filed under: Tabloid

439573555.jpg

I strided as I passed by a streetcorner where the souls of those who reside there ease their exhaustion of a day’s work through drinking. The small bulb sympathize with them as it illuminates their limpy table filled with what they deemed are pleasurable.

I passed them with my eyes talking to the ground.

A few more steps, I said to myself, then I will reach our doorsteps.

Dim. Unlit. Seemed abandoned. It was unusual having our house looked like that.

I run, opened the gate, and peeked at every window. As if I was locked in a dungeon, I shouted, calling my mother’s name, but it seemed that no one heard me or they refused to hear me.

Every minute I see the darkness surrounding our house, I shrink with anxiety thinking what happened to my beloveds.

A shadow opened the door, as the lights went on, I perceived him to be my father. As if nothing serious was happening, he uttered, they’re in the hospital.

My mother sighed heavily as she saw the pot empty. She walked down our sala and sat on the chair for a while. On the television was her favorite variety program. That always makes her happy but not at this time. I wonder why.
She suddenly stood up and went out of our house. I silently followed her. I run but a hand held me and he asked, “Where are you going, Tonying?” I told him that I am just going to play outside. And he reminded me, “Be careful. It’s dangerous playing on the street.” I didn’t hear this because my mind thought of where my mother went. Worried that I won’t be able to see my mom, I let go of his hands and rushed outside, out to the street. I run and run and then all went black.

My phone rang. It was my brother.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

touched!

Comment by kai




Leave a Reply

